.

Rye Town Assessor Plans Home Inspections in Port Chester

Data collection process part of effort to update tax records.

The Town of Rye is getting ready to launch home inspections in Port Chester as part of its process of updating data used for tax purposes, according to Rye Town Assessor Mitchell Markowitz.

He said the town, which includes the Village of Port Chester, is continuing its multi-year property inspection program. This year, the town will be inspecting individual homes.

Markowitz said this process is part on the town’s effort to strengthen its annual property valuation process.

Data collection in the Town of Rye will begin during the first week of October and last about a month. Over the next few weeks, data collectors from Vision Government Solutions will be inspecting homes in certain neighborhoods of Port Chester, Rye Brook and the Rye Neck School District.

Data collectors will gather specific information about a property, such as the type of building construction materials, the number of stories, number of bedrooms and bathrooms. They will also measure the outside perimeter of the residence and any other structures on the property.

Markowitz said the inspectors will not be collecting information on personal property, such as furniture or appliances, will not be taking interior photographs. He said residents do not have to worry about the tidiness of their homes.

The inspection typically takes 15 to 20 minutes and Markowitz said residentsare encouraged to accompany thed ata collector during the inspection.

Data collectors will attempt to inspect homes during the day and early evening hours before dark. If you are not available when the initial data collection attempts are made, a first-class letter will be sent to you requesting that you call Vision Government Solutions for an appointment.

Further information regarding the Town inspection process and maps outlining the areaswhere the data collectors will focus their efforts are located on the Town website @ http://townofryeny.com.

Bart Didden September 27, 2012 at 05:05 PM
Inspections? There has been no notice to the Village of Port Chester Board of Trustees of any inspections. There seems to be a disconnect between the left and right hands of local government especially when there are continuing questions about assessments from residential as well as commercial property owners on valuations from all areas of the Village. One such question stemmed from a letter written to a local publication from a local woman who is a third generation resident on Elmont Avenue. Maybe some members of the BOT have relevant information on neighborhoods to be included in this sampling survey! Additionally, Trustee Terenzi and I have had on going questions for Mr. Markowitz that still go unanswered. To try and get answers the BOT requested Mr. Markowitz to attend our October 1st meeting, but Mr. Markowitz declined to meet with us unless our Treasurer was present. I see no basis at all upon which Mr. Markowitz can dictate terms of his attending our meeting to which he was invited. If he had a scheduling conflict, fine, but he is in no position to set terms. What I find disturbing as well is that when Mr. Markowitz was setting these "terms" for attending our meeting with Mayor Pilla this very week that Mr. Markowitz neglected to tell Mayor Pilla (I assume) of these up coming inspections as well. Then again the Mayor does not keep the board updated as well as we would like all of the time.
PC Native September 28, 2012 at 07:17 PM
1) Thank you Bart for always representing the best interest of PC residents and not succumbing to political pressures. 2) Dissolve Rye Town government. I know I'm not opening my door if Markowitz comes knockin'... revolt!
FJT September 29, 2012 at 03:22 PM
How is this even remotely Constitutional? Or do we no longer worry about such things in the USA? What other inspections might be in our future if this one is considered lawful and mandatory? I guess I'm just old school when it comes to wondering about such things going back to the Magna Carta and the founding of this country, such as the notion that a man's home is his castle and therefore off limits to the king's agents.
FJT September 29, 2012 at 03:34 PM
Here is some case law on the subject. It's not boring at all and even references the tactics used by the same company that does the appraisals in Port Chester. It's very enlightening and disturbing at the same time. http://www.hb-rights.org/1local/inspect
Silvio V. Buccieri September 29, 2012 at 03:59 PM
ITS, like I said in a cartoon I drew a few years ago, they will soon be putting home tax meters on your home, and there is no end in sight untill they shut the doors down on overcrowding. code inforcement where are you???? if I see it. why can't you?
Mary Touri September 29, 2012 at 04:18 PM
I am a bit confused...what are they looking for ? Overcrowding, illegal residents and/or apts.or unauthorized home renovations ? What are they after and why only some neighborhoods ?
Bart Didden September 29, 2012 at 04:33 PM
Mary, All I know, because I have received no information from the Town or Mayor Pilla's office who has been communicating with Mr. Markowitz during the past week, is what I read in this article. I surmise that this is an interim sampling test to see if their assessments are correct in various neighborhoods so that they can increase their confidence in the overall assessment roll across the Town. I continue to fault both Mr. Markowitz for failure to notify the Village BOT of this program and Mayor Pilla only if he had the information and did not pass it on to the Trustees and Village Staff. Too bad for us that Mayor Pilla allowed Mr. Markowitz to set terms for meeting with the Village BOT this coming Monday and canceled this important meeting. We COULD have gotten all the questions answered about these inspections.
FJT September 29, 2012 at 04:36 PM
The irony of the kinds of policies we're seeing implemented is they're having the effect of driving homeowners out of Port Chester, that is, IF they can find buyers. Also, instead of raising property values -- as some elected representatives have promised -- the recent widespread nullification of Certificates of Occupancy and now Mr. Markowitz's home appraisal inspections (that would appear to violate the basic rights of homeowners) will drive values down further and faster. Meanwhile, the property taxes will always go up thanks to the special-sauce formula the village uses to calculate them. This is twisted on so many levels. Will people ever wake up in this community and demand better?
Silvio V. Buccieri September 29, 2012 at 05:04 PM
who is Mr. Markowitz boss? call him up and tell him he has to be at the meeting,that you are asking to be at. we are paying his salary am I correct? if so tell him to be there! end of story.
Linda Turturino September 29, 2012 at 06:07 PM
Here is my opinion Mr. Markowitz can choose or not choose to come to any meeting involving government that he is invited to. I believe Mr. Carvin would be his boss and should hold him to task why he would not attend such a meeting. Then again the Village of PC hired a Village manger and he wrote his own ticket with benefits . I wonder how many people interview for a job and get to demand what they want when hired - I never heard of that ...
Linda Turturino September 29, 2012 at 06:10 PM
bottom line the Town wants to make sure if you are paying taxes on a 3 bedroom house you have a 3 bedroom house but is is ok if you rent out 2 of those bedrooms to 2 families with 4 kids each ..that is what the problem is in this Village and frankly it makes me sick
Progress in Government September 29, 2012 at 07:08 PM
Can a homeowner refuse entry and what are the ramifications (some might say retributions) if refusal?
Linda Turturino September 29, 2012 at 11:16 PM
my understanding is if you refuse and a court order is obtained they enter your home and document what is there if there is a conflict as to what is currently on the record you are not able to dispute it soo the question begs to be asked do you just let them in or fight it ???
FJT September 30, 2012 at 02:26 AM
In New York State has any judge ever issued a court order allowing an assessor to enter a private home against the owner's wishes? Is so, the judge should be removed from the bench. This is the United States not a banana republic or hard core communist country. I provided a link above that is very relevant to what's permissible under the law and worth a quick read.
Bart Didden October 01, 2012 at 03:02 PM
After looking at the map again I have a question - IS THAT IT? Just the colored in area, of all of Rye Town that's it? This is flawed, again
PCPARENT October 05, 2012 at 06:06 PM
I agree with Bart, is that IT? really ... pathetic. why not start with the houses downtown that have 10 mailboxes on the door, missing windows and couches on the front porch? There are real issues with the village and it seems they are picking the wrong battles! we live in the 'highlighted' area on the map above and we also pay the higher taxes in PC .. why start with us? to raise our taxes even more to support the overcrowding in the village? it disgusts me. who really cares if someone may have a partially finished basement? when there are 10 families living in a one family downtown. Truly pathetic.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something